website design software
About Me

My name is Susan Jones and I am 24 years old. I am currently based in Bangor, North Wales, but have lived in Oban, Stirling and Swanage over the years. My passion for Photography started at an early age, although I had to wait til my early teens before being trusted with a “proper” camera, a Centon SLR. My dad encouraged me to pursue photography, and I enjoyed some success in local photographic competitions. I moved on to digital photography in 2007 with a Nikon D40X and now use a Nikon D7000, with a variety of lenses. I still maintain the same principles as I did when using film, and try to frame the photo before pressing the shutter, reducing the time required editing afterwards.

I have grown up with dogs in my life, and spent a considerable amount of my childhood wandering around in the countryside. My mum breeds and shows Border Collies, and I am fortunate to have many contacts in the canine world. I have enjoyed some success in showing and handling over the years and have had a few judging appointments. Although my current living arrangements mean that I do not have my dogs with me, I am often found walking dogs with friends and I do try to attend a few dog shows a year, including Crufts.  I have also worked with horses, and particularly enjoy photographing the human interactions with horses, as well as covering shows. In the past, I have volunteered with Riding for the Disabled and spent summer 2009 working as a Horse Riding Instructor at South Mountain YMCA. I prefer working outdoors with natural light, which I feel also allows the pets to be more at ease and to act naturally, enabling me to capture that perfect moment. For more information on my Pet Photography, please click here.

Whilst studying my Conservation Biology degree in Stirling, I was an active member of several clubs, including Equestrian and Polo, Photographic, Nature and the student paper, Brig. What started off as taking photos for fun soon turned into requests for photos, which led to me covering numerous events for my own Clubs, the School of Biology and Environmental Science, and the Union , including Freshers and Re:Freshers weeks, Final Fling, charity and sports events. Through my degree I became involved with several voluntary organisations and was able to photograph many community and voluntary events. For more information on my Event Photography, please click here.

 

Even in my spare time, I am often found with a camera close to hand. I enjoy going for walks and finding new places to explore. I am a keen wildlife watcher and have recently started bird ringing with my local group. When time and finances allow, I also enjoy horse riding and swimming, along with walking dogs (my own and others). Down time, I like reading, listening to music and watching films, as well as cooking and baking.

Like most people, I long for unforgettable travel experiences. I have been fortunate to have traveled to some amazing places over the years, and obviously always have a camera safely packed to record my adventures. Although the convenience of hostels and tourist areas is hard to keep away from, I have been a member of the Couch Surfing Community since summer 2011, which enables travelers to meet locals in the area, go to the places off the beaten track that most tourists don’t know exist and learn about the different cultures of the world. I have both hosted and surfed, and I also help to organise events for fellow CS members in Bangor.

 

Me with Bob, Shimmy, Pip and Jess - just a handful of my four-legged friends!

Copyright: Please note that all rights are reserved for images on this website. All images are the property of the photographer and protected under UK and International copyright laws. Copying, downloading, printing, or reproducing in any manner without the prior written permission of the photographer is strictly forbidden.

[Home] [About Me] [Pet Photography] [Galleries] [News] [NATIONAL PET MONTH] [Calendar 2014] [Calendar 2013] [FAQ] [General Information] [Products] [Contact Us] [Links]